CBII: Surgical

The last day of 2011, was also spent on an A shift at Surgical ward (at least it wasn’t a night or P shift). I was assigned to a rather easy team 1-14, so the last day crawled by rather slowly but really satisfying.

I guess there’s really nothing better than when your hard work is seen and acknowledged by the very people you wish to help. I was really touched as the team nurse asked me to help Patient 6 with her meds, whilst Patients 3,4,5, and 6 where chatting, they acknowledged how i was always cheerful and patient with them, and encouraged me on my path to become a nurse, and that my efforts would pay off.
病人:你有冇忠教信仰架?
Da:(pause…心想:死啦,平時有冇做錯野呢?) 我係基督徒啊 
病人:啊基督徒真係幾好啊吼,成日對人好有愛心啊!
Da:(呼
原來,做得好的時候,真的可以榮耀神!
This patient was also the one that during my night shift had a Q1H (every hour) BP. So every hour on the dot, regardless of how light my tread as she was a very light sleeper, she would be woken up. To add on that, her right hand had an IV drip, so I couldn’t even rotate hands for vital signs taking. I still remember on my last BP round that night at 6AM, she stated in a rather defeated tone: “你可唔可以唔好咁辛苦啊!”   
(Teehee, on a funny side note, Patient 6 very much like a grandmother shared with me how her relative was also a nurse and to have patience and feel with your heart when picking my other half: 記得搵個就得你架,唔就得既就快D唔好要佢啦,如果唔係,成日鬧交有乜用啊!)

The staff at this ward was also really great. IC’s would take time out of their schedule to teach us, talk through proceedures that we may not have seen. Somehow, it’s so much easier to learn procedures as they are being done or given a hands-on chance, so her 45minute lessons were really useful.

Indirectly, one nurse had “interesting” ways in pushing me to take up the role of a nurse rather than just a student. Although her methods could produce quite opposite effects for some, her presence had made me realize that I can’t stay a student for too long, and because of the lack of a mentor in clinical fields, I had to make time and have the assertiveness to learn how to follow a case through by myself. It’s hard because there’s so many things we still can’t do, but it’s nice to know the how-to and what things to expect and to look out for. I really thank her for her intentions, although, a better approach may produce much more satisfying results.

A penny for your thoughts; two for your comments!

